State Sen. Adam Satchell

State Sen. Adam Satchell

Michael Trofi, MLN chapter leader, worked with his senator in the State House, Sen. Adam Satchell, to craft legislation that would raise media literacy as a priority within the basic education program in Rhode Island. The bill, introduced Thursday, attracted four co-sponsors, including Senate Education Committee Vice-Chairperson Senator Harold M. Metts. The other co-sponsors are Sen. Roger Picard, Sen. Louis Dipalma, and Sen. William Conley.

Mr. Trofi is very optimistic about the bill’s chances in the State House, noting the quick hearing that was scheduled for Wednesday, January 27 before the Senate Education Committee.

Please go to the Rhode Island chapter page of MLN to find out how you can help.

The act calls upon the Rhode Island Department of Education, also known as RIDE, to incorporate media literacy education in the state’s basic education program.

The bill text:

The department of elementary and secondary education shall consider, in consultation with national or statewide organizations focused on media literacy, the incorporation of media literacy education into the board of education’s basic education program regulations. For the purposes of this section “media literacy” means the ability to access, analyze, evaluate, create and communicate using a variety of forms, including but not limited to, print, visual, audio, interactive, and digital text.

For more details go here.

If you would like to exercise your civic leadership on Wednesday, you can attend the hearing at approximately 4:30 pm. Please go to Room 313 in the Rhode Island State House. When you arrive, sign up to offer your brief testimony. In 1 to 3 minutes, you can explain why media literacy matters to students, teachers and the community. Please bring a written copy of your testimony to hand to the clerk to distribute to the committee members. For more information, call the committee clerk at (401) 222-2381

Individuals and organizations can also send written testimony to Senate Education Committee Chairperson Hanna M. Gallo at

Share This Story!